The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award

As if to vex me after my dismissal of awards, Richard Reynolds, who blogs under the name 20thcenturybattles.com, has nominated me for the Liebster Award.

I’m grateful, especially from a blogger who deals in way more facts than I do. I’ve added a lot to my knowledge of World War One from his blog.

And I’ll accept the award. Not so much for the recognition — though, like any normal blogger, I like to be read but because it puts some useful randomness into our online reading (yes, reader, I am presuming to speak for you). You might discover something good. I found two promising blogs off my list of fellow nominees.

Rules of the award

A blogger can nominate up to 10 other bloggers then create a post announcing the nomination. The nominated bloggers should have less than 3,000 followers. The first blogger then asks 10 questions to these bloggers. If the nominated bloggers accept, then they create their own post accepting the nomination & linking back to the first blogger, answering the 10 questions, then nominating more bloggers and asking a new set of questions. The award keeps getting passed on so that readers can discover new blogs.

Here are the ten questions 20thcenturybattles had for me.:

  1. What inspired you to write a blog? My sister wrote a link-heavy blog on Middle Eastern affairs for 10 years. Also, I wanted more freedom to write the stuff I wanted without altering it to a site or editor’s requirement. 
  2. Who do you admire and why? Author Robert Silverberg for his versatility and vast output.
  3. Which activities make you lose track of time? Reading on the internet.
  4. What is the most difficult aspect of writing a blog? Deciding the right length for a post and the related concern about how much knowledge readers have. I don’t want to lecture my readers on stuff they already know.
  5. What is your proudest achievement? Actually having a poem published for money!
  6. What three character traits would your friends use to describe you? Pessimistic, curious, and black-humored.   
  7. What is your greatest fear? Civilizational collapse.
  8. If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you be and why? Bath, England. It’s a beautiful and small town.
  9. What was the last book you read? It’s Up to Charlie Hardin by Dean Ing.
  10. Which blog has inspired you the most? Jerry Pournelle’s Chaos Manor.

My nominees:

  1. Battered, Tattered, Yellowed & Creased
  2. The Books That Time Forgot
  3. Planetary Defense Command
  4. Retro-Forteana
  5. From couch to moon
  6. Tellers of Weird Tales
  7. The R’lyeh Tribune

Ten questions for nominees:

  1. How low would your view stats have to get to stop your blog?
  2. Are you tempted to start another blog to cover a different subject?
  3. Do you find blogging any of the following: self-improvement tool, memory aide, obsession, or chore?
  4. Do you think your blog is contributing to the useful knowledge of the world?
  5. What best describes your approach to politics in your blog: don’t care about politics; politics are forbidden; occasional intrusion; no self-censorship?
  6. What is the one entertainment medium you must have : text, tv/movies, music, art?
  7. How many blogs do you follow that have nothing to do with your blogging specialties?
  8. Do any of your friends or family read your blog?
  9. Do you read blogs with no pictures?
  10. What one question should I have asked you?

2Liebster

 

6 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I just wanted to drop you a note, to let you know I am planning to answer these questions on my blog, but I’m not sure when. I’ve been swamped at work, so I’ve been posting some pre-written articles and doing reblogs. Hopefully, I’ll get some free time soon.

  2. Pingback: Questions from MarzAat | Planetary Defense Command

Leave a Comment

